The year that wasn’t but was, somehow

It is exactly 10:30pm just an hour and a half to 2014 and it feels so weird that it’s literally the last day of the year. This year has flown by so quickly especially the last 5 months.

2013 has been my year in terms of achievements and enlightenment. I graduated from university this year and that is huge to me because the entire time I was studying I was plagued by an Bulimia and anorexia. It wasn’t easy fitting in studying into the bingeing and purging rituals. I say fitting the studying in because an eating disorder literally consumes your whole life. Spending the whole day bingeing and purging non-stop, this year though I really did cut back on the purging to about twice in every two weeks and that is huge because last year I purged about 9-10 times a day.

I can still feel the way I felt at graduation ceremony when the chancellor announced my name, I can still hear the cheers and the smile on my mum’s and brother’s faces. That’s a memory I will never forget and something nobody can take away from me. I did it! All those classes skipped because I was too weak to go, the exams I went to on an empty stomach because I did not want to feel huge while sitting on my desk writing the exam. I remember this exam where I almost fainted then I spotted my friend and sat in her car for an hour before the exam commenced.
2014 I am set on continuing with my studies, registration opens on the 6th of January and I cannot wait.

In terms of enlightenment, I see things clearer now. I don’t know what it is about depression that makes you see reality more that a person that isn’t depressed. I know now what I am supposed to do to get what I want but at the same time I am still so confused and that is an annoying paradox but that doesn’t matter I’ll get there.

I struggled with depression a lot this year and I sank deeper. I have days when I just can’t go on but I am still here fighting. Anxiety got the worst of me and my bipolar reigned especially towards the last few months.

I am not making any new year resolutions, I never do. Resolutions are this big build up to telling yourself you’ll achieve a b c d but when you don’t it crashes you. I don’t believe in that “new year new me” because that’s just bullshit instead I’m focusing on something called self-edification – ‘improvement of the self intellectually or morally”. I don’t believe as people we ever change but we can improve ourselves and rid of the parts of ourselves we do not desire.

As the sun sets on 2013, I will pack my problems and leave them on the doorstep of yesterday fully knowing those problems will find me but it’s okay, I am a year older, perhaps I’m wiser I don’t know but I am ready to face it all… I think! But I will collect the good memories and place them in a jar to carry with me into the forthcoming year.

I am so glad I created this blog this year and got to connect with people from all over the world, people suffering from the same afflictions as me. I feel like I am not that crazy because of people on here whose stories I can relate to. This is a source of inspiration from amazing humans, We really are not alone. We all want healing, we all want to be happy. I wish for you all to walk your paths in sunshine, glory and happiness and I wish for the days of 2014 to be filled with God’s grace.

So raising my cup of coffee, adieu 2013!

One thought on “The year that wasn’t but was, somehow

Leave a Reply

