“Runner’s itch” apparently

Went out to run an errand this morning and I was walking super fast and ended up having “itchy legs”. When I walk really fast or run my legs get irritated and then they start to itch really bad to the point where I just want to scratch myself raw in the middle of a mall. It usually happens when it’s cool. The last time this happened and it was more severe I cut my errands short that day and the moment I got home I took off my jeans and scratched my legs until they had red scratch marks all over, it’s so irritating you could scratch until you start bleeding if you don’t control yourself. Today I had to stop when climbing the stairs of an office building then I started to scratch away then someone walked up behind me and I had to pretend I was fixing my legggings.

I think it’s just an allergy that can be fixed by taking an antihistamine. According to google the reason for the itching is – “There are millions of tiny capillaries and arteries inside our muscles which expand rapidly due to the demand for more blood that is brought on by exercise. The rapid expansion of these vessels causes adjacent nerves to send impulses back to the brain which are interpreted as an itch” and that makes more sense but I will try out the antihistamines and see whether it helps, it’s embarrassing want to scratch your feet and legs SO BAD when you’re in public. I walk everywhere or take the bus because I don’t have car.

One thought on ““Runner’s itch” apparently

Leave a Reply

