Naturally slender people

“Naturally slender people don’t look gaunt”

Whenever I look at a naturally thin person of course you can’t always know whether someone is naturally slender or not but for instance people who I’ve known since forever who have always been thin. I see how well they carry their weight or lack thereof and how well their flesh perfectly covers up their bones, they are thin but they look healthy. They are what you can call gracefully thin.

Then there are some of us who if we hover around the same weight as our naturally thin counterparts we look like we need to be fed stakes of meaty sandwiches ASAP because the thinness looks so unnatural… it’s frightening.

Genes! Sigh.

2 thoughts on “Naturally slender people

  1. In the same breath, what is super skinny for our frames may not be on others and that is hugely discriminatory when looking for help and people say, ‘you can’t have anorexia or bulimia, those girls weight 90lbs.’ Genes, some can do that, some people’s low weights are higher but nonetheless damaging. Others like me who are wide and muscular, my lowest weight eating naff all is not 90lbs but I can assure people, I feel like death at my low weight and things hurts. Why do people just assume that eating disorders are for the skinny? Surely it’s about disordered eating, and that’s the crux of it. Sorry, I’ll remove my arse from my soap box.

    Love your blog xx

    • Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂 I totally agree with you, people are ignorant of the fact that Eating disorders are psychological, not physiological. I laughed when I was reading up on a few ED treatment centres (for both bulimia and anorexia) that are about 900km from where I live (those are the nearest), on their website they stated that for a person to be admitted into their facility they have to have a BMI of less than 17. I was like to myself are you kidding me, average sized… fat people can have EDs too, Its really discriminatory & demoralising.

Leave a Reply

